The Mayor of Workington

Workington Town Council elects a chairman every year at its Mayor Making ceremony, which is effectively the annual general meeting of the council. Mayor Making is held in May. The chairman of the Town Council is known as the Mayor of Workington, and they inherit the insignia of the old Municipal Borough of Workington, which was abolished in 1974. They are elected by fellow councillors to serve for one year. As well as chairing the council's meetings, the Mayor has a Civic role as the first citizen of Workington. They represent the town at civic functions and are a focus for the town council's civic role and heritage. The Mayor is accompanied in their year of office by a Mayoress or Consort (depending on whether they are male or female). There is also a Deputy Mayor, who stands in for the Mayor when required. The Deputy Mayor, when acting in the Mayor's role, has all the powers and duties of the Mayor.

Mayor Cllr Janet King, Deputy Mayor Cllr David King.

The current (2019-20 & 2020-2021) Mayor is Cllr Janet King.

Sadly our Deputy Mayor, Cllr David King, passed away during his term as Deputy Mayor.  Cllr Janet King remains Mayor for the 2020-2021 term, supported by her consort Cllr Herbert Briggs.   

Watch a video of our Mayor Making ceremony here.  All members of the public are welcome to attend.

The Mayor of Workington's Charity Fund (2019-20 & 2020-2021)

The Mayor of Workington’s Charity Fund is currently raising money for Young Cumbria and West Cumbria Carers

Young Cumbria is one of Cumbria’s leading youth charities. They provide services that empower young people to create positive change in their lives and in their communities.

Young Carers provides support to carers under the age of 18 years old who look after a family member, relative, friend or neighbour. Young Carers is part of West Cumbria Carers.

If you would like to make a donation to The Mayor's Charity please click the button above or contact us at or call 01900 702986.

Inviting the Mayor

If you would like to invite the Mayor to an event, then please read this advice and send this form to the Town Clerk.

Mayor's Charity

Every year the Mayor of Workington nominates a charitable cause. They raise money through mayoral events including the Mayoral Dinner. You can make a donation to the current mayoral cause by contacting the Town Council. 


2019-20 & 2020-2021 Cllr Janet King                Young Cumbria and Young Carers (part of West Cumbria Carers)

2018-19 Cllr Barbara Cannon                          Hospice at Home West Cumbria
2017-18 Cllr Ann Bales                                        Cystic Fibrosis Trust and Team Isla

2016-17 Cllr Joan Wright                                     Myeloma UK
2015-16 Cllr Carole Armstrong                          The Great North Air Ambulance
2014-15 Cllr Mary Bainbridge                            The Royal British Legion Poppy Appeal/Armed Forces Day
2013-14 Cllr Konrad Hansen                              The Stroke Association
2012-13 Cllr Andrew Lawson                             RNLI, 4th Workington Scout Group, Workington Sea Cadets
2011-12 Cllr Mel Pettit/ Cllr Nik Hardy             Great North Air Ambulance. MacMillan Nurses
2010-11 Cllr Margaret Jones                              Age UK, The Minto Centre, Allerdale Basics
2009-10 Cllr Bill Reville                                       Cumbria flood victims
2008-09 Cllr Bill Bacon                                        Hospice at Home, Footsteps, West Cumberland Hospital, Workington Sea Cadets
2007-08 Cllr Nik Hardy                                        Coronary Care Ward, West Cumbria Hospice at Home, West Cumbria Cerebral Palsy

Mayor's Shield for Volunteer of the Year

The Mayor of Workington's Shield was introduced by Cllr Konrad Hansen in his Mayoral year as a tribute to the unpaid hours of service given by the town's many volunteers. The Shield is awarded annually to volunteers for their outstanding contribution to the town and the current Mayor chooses the winner.

2019 Mr. and Mrs Johnston, The Carnegie Theatre and Arts Centre

2018 Mrs Evelyn Adams M.B.E

2017 Ms Margaret McIntyre
2016 Ms Betty Kent
2015 Ms Nerys Brunker, MIND in West Cumbria
2014 Ms Stella Howarth, former chair of Allerdale Disability Association

Mayor's Award for Sports Club of the Year

This is a new award introduced by Cllr Barbara Cannon, during her term as Mayor of Workington (2018-19).  The Sports Award will be presented to a club or individual that has made an outstanding contribution to sports in Workington and the current Mayor chooses the winner.

2019 Workington Reds Ladies FC

About Workington Town Council

 Workington Town Council is the grassroots council for the civil parish of Workington.  It is served by 25 councillors drawn from the whole town community.  The Chairman of the Council is The Mayor of Workington.

Get in Touch!

 Subscribe to our e-newsletter.  

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • YouTube

© 2021 Workington Town Council.  All rights reserved.