top of page

Culture Committee

The Culture Committee oversees the cultural and heritage aspects of Workington. Their aim is to encourage and sponsor arts, sports, cultural, technology and heritage events. This includes funding local initiatives, hosting events and working with statutory organisations in the area to deliver/manage events for Workington. Workington Town Council has a Culture and Events Programme Policy which can be viewed here. The Culture Committee also supports the Workington and District Twinning Association, providing financial and some administrative support.

The Chair of the Culture Committee is Cllr Barbara Cannon. The Vice Chair is Cllr Ellie Wood. 


Other members of this committee are:  Cllr Carole Armstrong, Cllr Ryan Briggs, Cllr Beth Dixon, Cllr Susan Fryer, Cllr Debbie Garton, Cllr Antony McGuckin, Cllr Patricia Poole, Cllr Paul Scott and Cllr Lynda Williams.  

Minutes published here remain draft until approved by the next available meeting.

Some meetings in 2020 were cancelled due to the Coronavirus pandemic. 

Available recordings of meetings, can be viewed on our YouTube channel - 

Viewing from a mobile device will only show most recent documents. Please visit the desktop version of our website for an archive of agendas and minutes.

  • YouTube
NEXT MEETING: Tuesday 7th March 2023 at 7pm
Location:  Workington Town Council Community Centre, Princess Street. 

To register an interest in attending this meeting, or to submit a question, please e-mail or call 01900 702986. 

7 MARCH 2023

Agenda to be added
Minutes to be added

5 JANUARY 2023

5 december 2022


30 AUGUST 2022

28 June 2022

10 June 2022

For previous agendas and minutes, please visit the Culture Committee archive page. 

bottom of page