top of page

Environment Committee

The Environment Committee’s aim is to produce the best environment for the residents of Workington. This includes maintaining some of the town's parks, open spaces and planted features, managing allotment sites and the restoration of back lanes (in liaison with Allerdale Borough Council and Cumbria County Council). The Committee also works alongside Allerdale Borough Council to deliver the Workington Nature Partnership. The partnership oversees the conservation of designated landscapes and nature reserves and promotes and enables outdoor learning with the local community.

The Environment Committee oversees the Workington in Bloom Working Group, to authorise funding for entries and prepare Workington’s application into the Cumbria in Bloom competition.

The Environment Committee oversees the Allotments sub-committee.

The Chair of the Committee sits on the Nature Partnership Steering Group, along with the Town Clerk.

The Chair of the Environment Committee is Cllr Beth Dixon. The Vice Chair is Cllr Jacqueline Kirkbride. 

Other members of this committee are:  Cllr Carole Armstrong, Cllr Ryan Briggs, Cllr Michael Heaslip, Cllr Hilary Harrington, Cllr Bernadette Jones, Cllr Billy Miskelly, Cllr Patricia Poole, Cllr Lynda Williams and Cllr Ellie Wood.   

Minutes published here remain draft until approved by the next available meeting. 

Some meetings in 2020 were cancelled due to the Coronavirus pandemic. 

Available recordings of meetings are available to view on our YouTube channel - 

Viewing on a mobile device will show only recent documents. Please visit the desktop version of our website to view an archive of agendas and minutes.

  • YouTube
NEXT MEETING: Thursday 2nd March 2023 at 7pm.
Location:  Workington Town Council Community Centre, Princess Street. 

To express an interest in attending this meeting, or to submit a questions, please e-mail or call 01900 702986. 

2 march 2023

Minutes to be added

12 JANUARY 2023


27 OCTOBER 2022

1 september 2022

7 july 2022

26 MAy 2022

For previous agendas and minutes, please visit the Environment committee archive page.

bottom of page