Planning Committee

Workington Town Council is a consultee on all planning matters that affect Workington. The local planning authority is Allerdale Borough Council, with matters relating to Minerals and Waste dealt with by Cumbria County Council. All planning applications are considered by the Planning Committee. Town Council comments, relating to these applications, can be found by viewing the appropriate minutes. Planning Committee meetings are open to members of the public; members of the public may be invited to speak about planning applications by invitation of the chair of the committee.

The Chair of the Planning Committee is Cllr Blain Sansom.  The Vice Chair is Cllr Sean Melton.


Other members of this committee are: Cllr Herbert Briggs, Cllr Ryan Briggs, Cllr Ged Glaister, Cllr Hilary Harrington, Cllr John Hunter, Cllr Paul Scott and Cllr Stephen Stoddart.

Minutes published here remain draft until approved by the next available meeting.

Some meetings were cancelled in 2020 due to the Coronavirus pandemic. 

Available recordings of meetings can be viewed on our YouTube channel - 

Viewing from a mobile device will only show most recent documents. Please visit the desktop version of our website for an archive of agendas and minutes.

  • YouTube
NEXT MEETING: Tuesday 6 April 2021, 6.30pm
Our meetings are currently taking place via Zoom, please e-mail for joining instructions if you would like to attend. 

6 april 2021

1 March 2021

1 february 2021

5 January 2021


2 november 2020

2 March 2020

3 February 2020

6 january 2020

2 december 2019

4 november 2019

7 october 2019

2 september 2019

5 August 2019

1 July 2019

3 June 2019

For previous agendas and minutes, please visit the Planning committee archive page.

About Workington Town Council

 Workington Town Council is the grassroots council for the civil parish of Workington.  It is served by 25 councillors drawn from the whole town community.  The Chairman of the Council is The Mayor of Workington.

Get in Touch!

 Subscribe to our e-newsletter.  

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • YouTube

© 2021 Workington Town Council.  All rights reserved.